For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

AACORN Charter Members

AACORN's Charter Members include both junior and established scholars with research interests and expertise pertinent to obesity and related health disparities.

Shiriki Kumanyika, PhD (Human Nutrition), MPH
AACORN Founder and Chair
Research Professor
Dornsife School of Public Health, Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA

Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Njeri Karanja, PhD (Human Nutrition)
Senior Investigator
Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research
Portland, OR

Melicia C. Whitt-Glover, PhD (Physical Activity Epidemiology)
President & CEO
Gramercy Research Group
Winston-Salem, NC

Bettina M. Beech, DrPH (Community Health), MPH
Associate Vice Chancellor of Population Health
Executive Director of the Myrlie Evers-Williams Institute for the Elimination of Health Disparities
Professor of Pediatrics and Family Medicine
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

JoAnne Banks, RN, PhD (Nursing)
Bertha L. Shelton Endowed Professor of Nursing Research
School of Nursing
Winston-Salem State University
Winston-Salem, NC

Tiffany L. Gary-Webb, PhD (Clinical Epidemiology)
Associate Professor, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences
Associate Professor, Epidemiology
Graduate School of Public Health
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Chanita Hughes-Halbert, PhD (Personality Psychology)
AT&T Distinguished Endowed Chair in Cancer Equity
Medical University of South Carolina
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Charleston, SC

Carmen D. Samuel-Hodge, PhD (Public Health Nutrition)
Research Assistant Professor
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Schools of Public Health and Medicine, Nutrition Department
Chapel Hill, NC

Kristie J. Lancaster, PhD (Nutrition), RD
Associate Professor, Dept. of Nutrition, Food Studies and Public Health
New York University
New York, NY

Angela M. Odoms-Young, PhD (Community Nutrition)
Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL

T. Elaine Prewitt, DrPH (Nutrition)
Associate Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management
College of Public Health
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AK